view of a brown door
Our Story
background pattern
Adults Only - Ages 16 - Badge

Hotel in St. Augustine’s Historic District

Travelers seeking a storied retreat will delight in our iconic hotel in St. Augustine’s historic district. Once the home of the Dow Museum of Historic Houses, it is now a thoughtfully curated hotel that tells its centuries-old story through art and architecture, weaving it into a modern, high-end experience of immersive hospitality.

Storied Luxury in Every Detail

Hotel Amenities Included in Your Stay
Amenity fee is $35 per night.

croissant and coffee iconEuropean
Breakfast
house iconHistorical
Tours
pool iconHeated
Pool
  • Valet & Parking
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi
  • Courtyard Garden & Fire Pits
  • Bicycles to Borrow
  • Lawn Games
  • Amazon Echo Dot
  • Afternoon Snacks & Filtered Water 
  • Cocktail bar, The Well
  • Accessibility & Features, Learn More
Explore the Grounds
a table with food and drinks on it on a deck

Worcester House

In 1906, Henry built Worcester House for his new bride. An example of the Richardson Romanesque style popular around the turn of the century, it featured a large porch and balcony, which was removed by Mr. Dow in 1949. It has now been fully restored.

a house with a stone driveway

Spear House

The Spear House was originally built in 1899 to house carriages. In 1900, John Henry, a bookkeeper to Henry Flagler, purchased it and added a second story. He later converted it into a rooming house. Most recently, it’s been used as an art gallery.

a house with trees and bushes around it

Rose House

Built in 1907, the Rose House received its name for the work of Jean Gordon, an authority on roses who rented the home from Mr. Dow for 10 years, beginning in 1956. She operated a rose museum there and wrote many books about the subject.

a house with a stone patio

Howells House

Howells House is a large Colonial Revival home dating to 1909. It is named after William Dean Howells, the famous American author and editor, who wintered there in 1916 and 1917 and welcomed visitors Mark Twain and Sinclair Lewis.

a house with a brick driveway

Murat House

The Murat House is one of the oldest surviving Colonial buildings in St. Augustine. It was built in 1790 by Antonio Huertas and now bears the name of its most famous occupant, Prince Achille Murat, a nephew of Napoleon Bonaparte.

a patio with a table and chairs

Dow House

Minorcan Antonio Canova built the Dow House in 1839. Mr. Dow purchased that house in 1941 from St. Augustine’s oldest living resident, Sarah McKinnon, who was 98 at the time, and who continued to live there until her death at 103.

Array
Array

Canova House

The third oldest structure on the site — built after the Murat and Dow Houses — the Canova House dates back to 1840 and was also built by Antonio Canova.

a patio with tables and chairs

The Well

Built around 1915, The Well once served as a garage for Howells House. It was renovated in 1989 and became an event venue operating as the Jesse Fish Tavern — a nod to the notorious Jesse Fish, who made history as a merchant, schemer, and scalawag.

a house with a patio and tables

Lobby

Built in 1899 by local dry goods merchant Emanuel de Medici, the Star Building was first a general store and later served as a residence, kindergarten, toy store, and millinery. Today, it is our inn’s gracious entrance lobby.

a pool with chairs and umbrellas by a house

Heated Saltwater Pool

Tucked within our expansive courtyard garden, between the Spear and Rose Houses, our heated outdoor pool is a relaxing oasis worth visiting any time of year.

a group of people sitting on stairs

Historic Amphitheater

Enjoy history tours of the property three times per week with The Collector's resident historian. These begin and end at our lovingly restored amphitheater.

Map Dots Image
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11